So the world exploded, what’s different?

Well… Quite a lot actually, aside from the obvious changes such as old enemies resurfacing to destroy the world, the new expansion for World of Warcraft (Cataclysm) is what the players have been waiting for and then some more. For non Warcraft players to truly understand what a step forward Cataclysm is, you need to understand a bit about the current state of the game.

Currently the game’s content consists of rushing, people aiming to get to level 80 without any effort or experiencing the game to its fullest, as an old player of the game this is down heartening to know that people are missing out on so much and it must be even worse for the developers.

Some of the reasons that the majority of the world is unexplored is due to the reducing of required experience to level and the ‘Looking For Group (LFG)’ tool. I personally love this tool as it makes it a far sight more efficient to find and complete dungeons, you just enter yourself into the LFG tool and wait until it finds you a group. The rate of group assembling depends upon when you’re using it, for example if you are attempting to find a group at 3am on Monday morning, it’ll be harder to find a group. While this is indeed a wonderful tool that brings life back to low populated servers, it does remove the “World” from “World of Warcraft”. Most endgame content  can be accessed from anywhere which results in people spending a lot of their time in cities with some mocking the current game state even going as far to call it “Streets of Dalarancraft

However the new expansion changes that, not only have nearly all of the zones being tweaked and changed about, some higher level zones that players would normally miss have been changed to lower levels which not only lets people explore but gives  players an extremely diverse selection of areas to level in from 1-60. In addition, to combat the streets of Dalarancraft, Blizzard have made it a requirement to have visited or located the dungeon first before being able to use the LFG tool to enter it, this usually consists of a quest chain. The other game changes are so vast that it’s not possible to cover them in one article so I’ll be releasing further ones to cover the changes such as graphics, mechanics, questing and the lore involved. Stay tuned for more cataclysmically awesome updates including “Day One – The Graphics of Warcraft”

Below is a list of things I missed out on while slowly leveling from 1-60 in Azeroth with no experience boosting items;

The Argent Dawn and all their quest chains

Silithus, Un’Goro Crater, Ferelas, Winterspring, Azshara, Stonetalon Mountains, Desolace, Dustwallow Marsh, Thousand Needles, Feralas, Eastern Plaguelands, The Hinterlands, Arathi Highlands, Hillsbrad Foothills, Alterac Mountains, Silverpine Forest, Wetlands, Loch Modan, Badlands, Searing Gorge, Burning Steppes, Duskwood, Swamp of Sorrows, Blasted Lands, Stranglethorn Vale.

Scholomance, Stratholme, Blackrock Spire (Upper/Lower)

At least 918 quests

And 10 achievement points…